Legal entities established in the following countries are eligible to receive funding in Horizon 2020:

  • Member States of the European Union, including their overseas departments and outermost regions.

British applicants: Please note that until the UK leaves the EU, EU law continues to apply to and within the UK, when it comes to rights and obligations; this includes the eligibility of UK legal entities to fully participate and receive funding in Horizon 2020 actions. However that the eligibility criteria must be complied with for the entire duration of the grant. If the United Kingdom withdraws from the EU during the grant period without concluding an agreement with the EU ensuring in particular that British applicants continue to be eligible, you will cease to be eligible to receive EU funding (while continuing, where possible, to participate) or be required to leave the project on the basis of Article 50 of the grant agreement.

For the Euratom programme, associated countries are as follows:

Legal entities established in countries not listed above or international organisations will be eligible for funding when it is explicitly stated in the relevant work programme and call. In addition, they may be eligible for funding under a bilateral scientific and technological agreement or any other arrangement between the Union and an international organisation or a third country.

 For third country participation see also the H2020 Online Manual section for International Cooperation:

Eligible applicants for the EaSI are national, regional and local authorities; employment services; specialist bodies provided for under Union law; social partners; non-governmental organisations; universities and faculties; research institutes; national statistical offices; media etc.

Currently 34 countries participate in the EU Programme for Employment and Social Innovation, they are: all 28 Member States of the European Union plus Iceland, Norway, Albania, FYR Macedonia, Montenegro, Serbia, and Turkey.

Programme EaSI consists of three axes covering the specific thematic actions:

1. PROGRESS axis – the modernisation of employment and social policies (61% of the total budget) covering the following thematic sections:

  • employment, in particular to fight youth unemployment,
  • social protection, social inclusion and the reduction and prevention of poverty,
  • working conditions.

2. EURES axis – Job mobility (18% of the total budget) covering the following thematic sections:

  • transparency in job vacancies, job applications and any related information for applicants and employers,
  • development of services for the recruitment and placing of workers in employment,
  • cross-border partnerships.

3. MICROFINANCE AND SOCIAL ENTREPRENEURSHIP axis (21% of the total budget) covering the following thematic sections:

  • access to, and the availability of, microfinance for vulnerable groups who want to set up or develop their business and micro-enterprises,
  • building of institutional capacity of microcredit providers,
  • support for the development of social enterprises, in particular by facilitating access to finance.

The Employment and Social Innovation (EaSI) programme is a financing instrument at EU level to promote a high level of quality and sustainable employment, guaranteeing adequate and decent social protection, combating social exclusion and poverty and improving working conditions. The total budget for 2014-2020 is EUR 919,469,000.